Not Drawing for Drawing’s Sake

Man_1_small

Digital portrait of a man on a textured background.

I’m trying to be more purposeful in my drawings. Rather than drawing because I feel like I need to draw to be a good little artist, I’m trying to draw something worth viewing. Seems like common sense right?

Draw something good.

But I don’t think that’s always the case…. at least not for me. Sometimes I feel like I have to be working on something all the time to consider myself an artist. So, I throw out a doodle or an animation to feel productive, it ends up looking terrible, I feel like a terrible artist, and I lose momentum.

But I’m not a terrible artist. I just didn’t put the effort in to make something worth looking at. So here’s to making drawings worth looking at!

I want to hear from you! Do you ever feel like you have to draw for drawing’s sake?

3 comments

  1. That’s a great train of thought, and definitely something to consider. I suppose I am of the opinion that, as artists, we always have to draw for drawing’s sake at least some of the time. It would be terrific if we could always put our heart and soul into every piece we do, but sometimes we just need the practice. “The pencil mileage” as my old professor used to say. It’s akin to any skill, like a tennis player practicing her serves or a figure skater focusing on getting his spins to be as perfect as possible. So in that case, drawing because an artist must draw is a truth of reality.

    At the same time, you make a good point. Striving to draw (paint/animate/compose/etc) something worth viewing is a goal we should always keep close. After all, life is short and doing average work isn’t giving this world our best. 🙂 Seems like a balance, in the end. Some works will be for the pencil mileage, and some to change a life. It’s great when they overlap, too!

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment, and you’re right! Like everything in life there needs to be balance.

      Don’t get me wrong. I’m not against drawing for practice, but my drawings and animation have been half-hearted lately. I wasn’t drawing to get better or trying to draw something decent. I was just throwing something on the paper to be able to say I drew something that day. That’s where the problem is. The lack of purposeful practice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

